Department News and Events

Essie's Special IssueEssie Maasoumi Honored with Special Issue of Econometric Reviews

EssieA large group of distinguished colleagues honored Professor Essie Maasoumi by contributing their own articles to a special issue devoted to Essie's work in the field of econometrics. 

As mentioned in the introduction to the special issue, "This Special Issue of Econometric Reviews (ER) is a tribute to Esfandiar Maasoumi for his longstanding contributions to the econometrics profession as an outstanding researcher, a revered teacher and supervisor, and a journal editor of three decades, all of which manifests his extraordinary devotion to the discipline of econometrics and to its growing community of students and scholars."

This issue is scheduled to be published soon in Econometric Reviews.

Congratulations to Essie Maasoumi!

Juan Rubio-Ramirez Appointed Charles Howard Candler Professor of Economics

JuanProfessor Juan Rubio-Ramirez was recently appointed a Charles Howard Candler Professor of Economics. The Charles Howard Candler professorships honor senior scholars who have shown outstanding teaching ability and productive scholarship in one or more fields of learning, and who have further distinguished themselves through long and substantial service to the university and in furthering the cause of higher education.

Charles Howard Candler, an 1898 Emory College alumnus, served as chair of Emory's Board of Trustees for nearly 30 years. He helped bring the university through the Great Depression and World War II.

Congratulations to Juan Rubio-Ramirez!

2017 Economics Banquet

Dean Ajay NairOn April 13, 2017, more than 100 faculty, staff, students, and university administrators gathered at the Michael C. Carlos Museum for the Economics department's annual banquet. Ajay Nair, Senior Vice President and Dean of Campus Life at Emory University, gave this year's distinguished lecture, entitled "Leading in Turbulent Times." Through personal stories from his youth and experiences from his professional life, Dean Nair (right) discussed the qualifications necessary for effective leadership. Among other points, he emphasized that a multicultural mindset, which typically urges tolerance toward people of different cultures, is not sufficient. He argued for a deeper and more nuanced approach for leaders to understand and interact with people of different backgrounds. His comments were addressed especially to the students in attendance but also to faculty and other guests as well.

In addition, Paul Rubin, Chair of the Economics Department, shared the latest department developments and news, including the hiring of new faculty and the successful recruitment efforts for the PhD program.

During the event, we also announced our annual student award winners and inducted the newest members of the Economics honor society, Omicron Delta Epsilon.

Tong XuTong Xu (pictured left), sixth year PhD student, won both the Graduate Student Teaching Award of Excellence and the Graduate Student Research Award of Excellence, marking the first year in which the same student won both awards.

Nanyu ChenNanyu Chen (pictured right) won the Jack and Lewis Greenhut Prize. The criteria for the Greenhut Prize are as follows: the quality of honors papers and other research, the oral defense of honors papers, participation in programs of professional associations, grades, and other indications of excellence in class.

Shaina ShaperaShaina Shapera (pictured left) won the George Benston and Richard F. Muth Prize for Excellence in Economics. The Muth/Benston Prize is awarded to a student who exemplifies intellectual curiosity, passion, and skills in economic analysis. The prize is awarded to a student who, by their class work and extended interests, has shown that he/she shares and has successfully emulated intellectual passion for all things economic.

Tori HerrenTori Elizabeth Herren (pictured right) won the Tate Whitman Prize. This prize is given to the graduating senior who best illustrates the Whitman characteristics of character, cogent analysis of complex issues, extraordinary personal integrity, and wise leadership.

Congratulations also to the newest inductees to Omicron Delta Epsilon (pictured below), the Economics honor society. ODE is dedicated to promoting excellence in economics by recognizing outstanding achievements and by encouraging professional exchange among students, and faculty!2017 ODE Inductees

Ian McCarthy Appointed Faculty Research Fellow in the Health Economics Program of the NBER

Ian McCarthyProfessor Ian McCarthy, Assistant Professor of Economics, was recently appointed Faculty Research Fellow in the Health Economics program of the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).

The NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers and business professionals. The NBER's Health Economics Program, directed by Michael Grossman, emphasizes studies on the economics of substance use, the economics of obesity, economic models of the determinants of health, and the determinants of the cost of medical care.

Congratulations to Ian McCarthy!

Sam Cherribi's New Book Fridays of Rage Garnering Media Attention

Fridays of RageEven before its February 2017 release date, Sam Cherribi's new book, Fridays of Rage: Al Jazeera, the Arab Spring, and Political Islam (Oxford University Press, 2017) is drawing significant media attention. Fridays of Rage explains Al Jazeera's rise to a well-respected media outlet with a reputation for pluralism and inclusiveness. However, the book also examines the potentially dark implications of Al Jazeera's use of media as a potential tool or weapon to sway public opinion. 

Sam Cherribi is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Middle Eastern and South Asian Studies (MESAS) and in the Department of Sociology. He is also a core faculty member in African Studies and Development Studies; adjunct faculty in the Department of Middle East and South Asian Studies; adjunct faculty in the Department of Economics; Fellow of the Lillian Carter Center for International Nursing; as well as the Founding Director of the Emory Development Initiative, which offers internships and courses for students interested in development and sponsors field trips and student projects in low income countries. Professor Cherribi routinely teaches a seminar course on the Politics and Economics of the Middle East and North Africa for the Department of Economics.

Toa Zha Appointed a Schwarzman College Inaugural Distinguished Professor

Tao ZhaProfessor Tao Zha, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Economics and Executive Director of the Center for Quantitative Economic Research (CQER) at the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, was recently appointed an inaugural distinguished professor of economics at the Schwarzman College.

The Schwarzman College program is an international scholarship program designed to "educate the next generation of global leaders." The College opened in mid-2016 and is located at Tsinghua University in Beijing, China. The program is intended to help future leaders across the world better understand China and to provide the knowledge and collaborative relationships necessary to foster cooperation between nations. This world-renowned program is often compared to the Rhodes Scholars Program and has well-known advisors, among whom are Michele Obama, Tony Blair, Colin Powell, Condoleeza Rice, and Henry Kissinger.

Professor Zha's spring course will be the largest at the College with sixty Schwarzman scholars registered for the class.

Click here to see older News and Events features.