Department News and Events

Tao Zha Named Fellow of the Econometric Society

Tao ZhaTao Zha, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Economics for the Economics Department and Research Center Executive Director, Center for Quantitative Economic Research (CQER), Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, was recently named a Fellow of the Econometric Society. 

The Econometric Society is an international society for the advancement of economic theory in its relation to statistics and mathematics. The Society was founded in 1930 and publishes three scholarly journals: Econometrica, Quantitative Economics, and Theoretical Economics.

Congratulations to Tao Zha!

2017 Georgia Health Economics Research Day

Georgia State University, with assistance from Emory’s Department of Economics and Institute for Quantitative Theory and Methods (QuanTM), hosted the 2017 Georgia Health Economics Research Day on October 20, 2017. The purpose of the conference was to promote active discussion and exchange of current research in health economics and health policy, with a focus on researchers in the Atlanta area and surrounding academic communities.

Over 50 people attended to hear several presenters speak on recent health economic developments, including the effects of paid maternity leave on maternal health, mechanisms to reduce the effects of adverse selection in health insurance, and evidence of collusion among health insurers in Medicare Advantage, amongst others.

We were especially honored this year to welcome Professor David Grabowski, Department of Health Care Policy, Harvard Medical School, as our keynote speaker. Other participants included faculty from Georgia State University, Emory University, the University of Georgia, Clemson University, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the American Cancer Society. We are also grateful to QuanTM and Georgia State University for generously funding this year's event.

To learn more about this event, click here.

Thomas Smith Named Top 40 Undergraduate Professor

Tom SmithThomas Smith, Visiting Professor for the Economics Department and Associate Professor of Finance in the Goizueta Business School was recently named one of the Top 40 Undergraduate Professors by Poets and Quants for Undergrads. Professor Smith is currently teaching Econ 231: Introduction to Global Trade and Finance in Fall 2017 semester. To read Professor Smith's interview for this award, please click here.

Professor Smith joined the Goizueta Business School faculty in 2008. His areas of expertise are in cultural economics, the economics of the arts, economics of sports, economics of religion, urban and real estate economics, labor economics, and economic education. He routinely teaches economics courses for the Department of Economics. For more about Professor Smith, click here.

Congratulations to Thomas Smith!

Essie's Special IssueEssie Maasoumi Honored with Special Issue of Econometric Reviews

EssieA large group of distinguished colleagues honored Professor Essie Maasoumi by contributing their own articles to a special issue devoted to Essie's work in the field of econometrics.

As mentioned in the introduction to the special issue, "This Special Issue of Econometric Reviews (ER) is a tribute to Esfandiar Maasoumi for his longstanding contributions to the econometrics profession as an outstanding researcher, a revered teacher and supervisor, and a journal editor of three decades, all of which manifests his extraordinary devotion to the discipline of econometrics and to its growing community of students and scholars."

This issue is scheduled to be published soon in Econometric Reviews.

Congratulations to Essie Maasoumi!

Juan Rubio-Ramirez Appointed Charles Howard Candler Professor of Economics

JuanProfessor Juan Rubio-Ramirez was recently appointed a Charles Howard Candler Professor of Economics. The Charles Howard Candler professorships honor senior scholars who have shown outstanding teaching ability and productive scholarship in one or more fields of learning, and who have further distinguished themselves through long and substantial service to the university and in furthering the cause of higher education.

Charles Howard Candler, an 1898 Emory College alumnus, served as chair of Emory's Board of Trustees for nearly 30 years. He helped bring the university through the Great Depression and World War II.

Congratulations to Juan Rubio-Ramirez!

2017 Economics Banquet

Dean Ajay NairOn April 13, 2017, more than 100 faculty, staff, students, and university administrators gathered at the Michael C. Carlos Museum for the Economics department's annual banquet. Ajay Nair, Senior Vice President and Dean of Campus Life at Emory University, gave this year's distinguished lecture, entitled "Leading in Turbulent Times." Through personal stories from his youth and experiences from his professional life, Dean Nair (right) discussed the qualifications necessary for effective leadership. Among other points, he emphasized that a multicultural mindset, which typically urges tolerance toward people of different cultures, is not sufficient. He argued for a deeper and more nuanced approach for leaders to understand and interact with people of different backgrounds. His comments were addressed especially to the students in attendance but also to faculty and other guests as well.

In addition, Paul Rubin, Chair of the Economics Department, shared the latest department developments and news, including the hiring of new faculty and the successful recruitment efforts for the PhD program.

During the event, we also announced our annual student award winners and inducted the newest members of the Economics honor society, Omicron Delta Epsilon.

Tong XuTong Xu (pictured left), sixth year PhD student, won both the Graduate Student Teaching Award of Excellence and the Graduate Student Research Award of Excellence, marking the first year in which the same student won both awards.

Nanyu ChenNanyu Chen (pictured right) won the Jack and Lewis Greenhut Prize. The criteria for the Greenhut Prize are as follows: the quality of honors papers and other research, the oral defense of honors papers, participation in programs of professional associations, grades, and other indications of excellence in class.

Shaina ShaperaShaina Shapera (pictured left) won the George Benston and Richard F. Muth Prize for Excellence in Economics. The Muth/Benston Prize is awarded to a student who exemplifies intellectual curiosity, passion, and skills in economic analysis. The prize is awarded to a student who, by their class work and extended interests, has shown that he/she shares and has successfully emulated intellectual passion for all things economic.

Tori HerrenTori Elizabeth Herren (pictured right) won the Tate Whitman Prize. This prize is given to the graduating senior who best illustrates the Whitman characteristics of character, cogent analysis of complex issues, extraordinary personal integrity, and wise leadership.

Congratulations also to the newest inductees to Omicron Delta Epsilon (pictured below), the Economics honor society. ODE is dedicated to promoting excellence in economics by recognizing outstanding achievements and by encouraging professional exchange among students, and faculty!2017 ODE Inductees

Click here to see older News and Events features.