Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

2021 Honors Graduates

The Department of Economics is pleased to announce the following Honors graduates. These graduates have distinguished themselves academically and have demonstrated a desire to further their intellectual dialogue through original research in the field of Economics.

Message from Director of Honors Program

Dr. Stephen O'Connell

2021 Honors Graduates

Junaid Ahmed

Committee: Stephen O'ConnellMike Carr (Mathematics), Phillip Wolff (Psychology)

Title of Thesis: Can NLP Models Aid in Behavioral Economics Decision-making?

Carly Diaz

Committee: Nelson Lind, Kelli Lanier, Jeff Rosensweig (Goizueta Business School)

Title of Thesis: In USD We Trust: Is the Strength of the Safe-haven Effect on U.S. Dollars Dwindling?

Nikita Dsouza

Committee: Kelli Lanier, Evan SaltzmanReshma Shah (Goizueta Business School)

Title of Thesis: Pinning Down Decision Preferences: Evaluating Role of Choice Architecture in Overcoming Choice Overload in Low-stakes Subjective Decision Settings

Danielle Handel

Committee: Krzysztof (Chris) Karbownik, Frank Lechner (Sociology), Victoria Powers (Mathematics)

Title of Thesis: The Effects of Natural Disasters on Infant Health: Evidence from India

Peter (Tun-Shuo) Lee

Committee: Kelli LanierBlake AllisonManuela Manetta (Mathematics), Julio Medina (Dance)

Title of Thesis: One More Episode? An Analysis of Overconfident Behavior in Video-streaming Consumers

Phoebe Lei

Committee: Jeong Ho (John) Kim, Miguel R. Rueda (Political Science), Bree Ettinger (Mathematics)

Title of Thesis: Bond Fund Performance and Flows During the COVID-19 Crisis

Xinyue Qin

Committee: Jong H. Kim, Sue Mialon, Maria Franca Sibau (East Asian Studies)

Title of Thesis: The Impact of Immigration on U.S. Trade Deficit and Immigrants' Home Bias Effect

Ben Smith

Committee: Hugo MialonJohn Wegner (Environmental Sciences), Miguel R. Rueda (Political Science)

Title of Thesis: Cowboy and Spaceman: The Driving Forces of Energy and the Economic and Environmental Tradeoff

James Traynelis

Committee: Mi LuoPaloma Moyano, Jeff Rosensweig (Goizueta Business School)

Title of Thesis: Filtered News Sentiments and U.S. Equities During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Julia van Helmond

Committee: Ian McCarthySara MarkowitzDana Haugaard (Visual Arts)

Title of Thesis: The Effect of Medicaid Expansion on the Accessibility of Facilities Offering Mental Health Services

Yuqi Wang

Committee: Kelli Lanier, Kaiji ChenWesley Longhofer (Goizueta Business School)

Title of Thesis: The Relationship between the Availability Heuristic and Trust in the Lens of the Black Lives Matter Movement

Benjamin Wiener

Committee: Krzysztof (Chris) Karbownik, Stephen O'ConnellMichael Kramer (Epidemiology)

Title of Thesis: Police Interventions and Birth Outcomes

Jianhao Zhang

Committee: Caroline FohlinLe Chen (Mathematics), Elena Pesavento

Title of Thesis: Index Spot-futures Arbitrage: Evidence from Examining S&P 500 Index and SPDR ETF